UN elects five new members to the Security Council
Turkey's foreign minister reaffirms commitment to maintain its stance on global issues

Turkey will continue to be the voice and conscience of countries that have those expectations from it, the Turkish foreign minister said Thursday.

"There may be some countries disturbed by our principled stance, and there have always been those, who, after some time, confess that Turkey's position was right. So, we could not abandon our principles for the sake of getting more votes," Mevlut Cavusoglu said following the U.N. Security Council election of five new temporary members.

Congratulating the elected countries, Cavusoglu said Turkey would continue to maintain its cooperation with international and regional institutions.

"We cannot relinquish our responsibilities in the U.N. just because we were not elected," he said.

Turkey lost it's bid for a seat on the Council in a runoff vote against Spain after both countries failed to garner the required number of votes in the first two rounds.

Spain won on the third ballot by receiving 132 votes to Turkey’s 60 votes.

Turkey was vying for one of the two seats allocated to the "Western European and Others Group," from which New Zealand won access to the chamber in the first round.

The U.N. General Assembly elected Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela as non-permanent members of the Security Council.

Angola, Malaysia and Venezuela were the only candidates for their regional groups, so their election was virtually certain.

The new non-permanent members will serve two-year terms beginning Jan. 1.

The Security Council comprises 15 members, with five permanent members – China, France, Russia, the U.K and the U.S. -- having the right of veto.

Others still serving include Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania and Nigeria, who won their seats in a 2013 election.

Last Modified: 2014-10-17 09:48:44
  • Visitors: 8801
  • (Suanki Oy 0.0/5 Yildiz) Toplam Oy: 0
  • 0 0