Turkish Cypriot president approves new government
New Prime Minister Omer Kalyoncu reveals new cabinet after predecessor's shock resignation

Turkish Cypriot President Mustafa Akinci has approved a new coalition government cabinet under Prime Minister Omer Kalyoncu.

The move comes after former prime minister Ozkan Yorgancioglu stepped down on July 4 after losing a party leadership vote in June.

Two days later, Akinci asked Republican Turkish Party-United Forces MP Kalyoncu to form a new government.

Kalyoncu's party formed a coalition with the National Unity Party and announced the government's new cabinet list after submitting it for the president’s approval on Wednesday.

The new cabinet members are:

- Prime Minister: Omer Soyer Kalyoncu

- Foreign Minister: Emine Colak

- Finance Minister: Hasan Basoglu

- Interior and Labor Minister: Aziz Gurpinar

- Economy, Industry and Trade Minister: Sunat Atun

- Public Works, Environment and Culture Minister: Kutlu Evren

- Transportation Minister: Tahsin Ertugruloglu

- National Education Minister: Kemal Durust

- Agriculture, Natural Resources and Food: Onder Sennaroglu

- Health Minister: Salih Izbul

- Tourism Minister: Faiz Sucuoglu

In the 50-deputy Turkish Cypriot Assembly, 26 seats are needed for a majority to form a government.

The Republican Turkish Party-United Forces has 21 seats and National Unity Party has 18 seats while the Democratic Party and Communal Democracy Party are represented with eight and three seats, respectively.

Last Modified: 2015-07-15 12:08:45
  • Visitors: 11329
  • (Suanki Oy 0.0/5 Yildiz) Toplam Oy: 0
  • 0 0