NBA: Golden State Warriors win title after 40-year wait

Warriors claim the NBA title by beating Cleveland Cavaliers 105-97 in the sixth match of the finals

The Golden State Warriors have been crowned 2015 NBA champions by beating Cleveland Cavaliers 105-97 in the sixth match of the finals at the Cavaliers' home Quicken Loans Arena.

The Warriors dominated the first quarter, 28-15 before the Cavaliers managed to narrow the gap in the second quarter with LeBron James, Timofey Mozgov and Iman Shumpert's contributions, 43-45.

The Warriors were in front after the third quarter thanks to their defense, 73-61. J.R. Smith's three-pointer made Cavaliers close the gap to four points with 33 seconds to go, 97-101. However, the Warriors managed to win the clash 105-97 after Stephen Curry and Andre Iguodala hit the target from free-throw line.

Last NBA champions in 1975, the Warriors Tuesday night’s win saw them end their title drought. The Western Conference team claimed their fourth NBA title in history.

Andre Iguodala, tallying 25 points, five rebounds and five assists against the Cavaliers, was picked as the Most Valuable Player of the 2015 NBA final.

Warriors' star playmaker guard Stephen Curry played with 25 points, eight assists, six rebounds and three steals. His teammate Draymond Green made a ‘triple-double’ in the match; Green completed the clash with 16 points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists.

Cavaliers' star forward LeBron James scored 32 points, grabbed 18 rebounds and produced nine assists; however, his efforts were not enough to stop the Warriors.

James' teammate J.R. Smith scored 19 points while Mozgov bagged 17 points, took 12 rebounds and made four blocks. Meanwhile Tristan Thompson scored 15 points and grabbed 13 rebounds.

Last Modified: 2015-06-17 08:50:01
  • Visitors: 200872
  • (Suanki Oy 0.0/5 Yildiz) Toplam Oy: 0
  • 0 0