British PM Cameron unveils new cabinet
Highest offices remained unchanged, as PM able to form first center-right Conservative government in 23 years

British Prime Minister David Cameron unveiled his cabinet Monday, after winning a second term in office with a majority government after last Thursday’s general election.

The highest offices remained unchanged, as he was able to form the first center-right Conservative government in 23 years.

George Osborne, Cameron’s right-hand man, will remain as Chancellor of the Exchequer and he was appointed to the new position of First Secretary of State, effectively making him Britain’s deputy prime minister.

Theresa May will remain as home secretary, a position she has held since 2010 when the Conservatives came to power through a coalition government with the centrist Liberal Democrats. She is now the longest serving home secretary in 50 years.

Phillip Hammond and Michael Fallon were reappointed as foreign and defense secretaries respectively, positions they have held since 2014.

Jeremy Hunt was reappointed as health secretary and Nick Morgan was reappointed as education secretary, a position she has held since 2014.

Former Education Secretary and Chief Whip Michael Gove is now the government’s justice secretary and former Conservative Party leader Iain Duncan Smith remains as the work and pensions secretary, a position he has held since the start of the coalition.

Sajid Javid is now the business, innovation and skills secretary, having served as the culture, media and sport secretary during the coalition era.

John Whittingdale was appointed culture, media and sport secretary, having previously been chairman of the Commons culture select committee.

Patrick McLoughlin and Liz Truss remain as transport secretary and secretary for environment, food and rural affairs respectively.

Greg Clark, the former universities, science and cities minister, replaced Eric Pickles as the new Secretary of State at the Department of Communities and Local Government.

Theresa Villiers and Stephen Crabb remain as the Northern Ireland and Wales secretaries respectively.

David Mundell will become Secretary of State for Scotland.

Mark Harper, a former immigration minister during the coalition period, was appointed as the government’s chief whip. He is in charge of making sure backbench MPs do not rebel against the Conservative frontbench and toe the government line in parliamentary votes.

Amber Rudd was appointed as secretary for energy and climate change, after being under-secretary in the same department which was run by a Liberal Democrat during the coalition government.

Former Justice Secretary Chris Grayling was appointed Leader of the House of Commons, Britain’s elected lower chamber of parliament.

Baroness Stowell, a Conservative peer, will be leader of the House of Lords, Britain’s unelected upper chamber of parliament.

Justine Greening will remain Secretary of State at the Department for International Development.

Mayor of London Boris Johnson will attend the Conservative political cabinet, but will not run a ministerial cabinet or attend the full cabinet meetings until he finishes his mayoral term in 2016.

Last Modified: 2015-05-12 08:41:12
  • Visitors: 10179
  • (Suanki Oy 0.0/5 Yildiz) Toplam Oy: 0
  • 0 0